Related Links

Related Stories


Ashden Awards call for entries

Ashden is today launching its call for entries for the 2014 Ashden Awards.

The awards are presented to sustainable energy entrepreneurs in the UK and developing world. They were set up in 2001 to champion local energy solutions that cut carbon, protect the environment, reduce poverty and improve people’s lives. 

Entry to the Ashden Awards is free and the closing date is 5 November. On 22 May 2014, a total of £210,000 in prize money will be awarded to 13 winners across four award categories at a ceremony at the Royal Geographical Society.

Ashden also provides winners with a wide-ranging package of support, including business advice, introductions to investors, media materials and help with communications.

“The Ashden Awards recognise some of the most important achievements in the field of sustainability,” said Fiona Harvey, Environment Correspondent at the Guardian, in a testimonial. “Everyone who works in this area will know the name and the high reputation of the awards, and winners are rewarded for their originality and impact. Winners benefit from having this instantly recognisable ‘calling card’ when talking to the wider world.”

Prizes will be awarded in the following categories:

  • UK Ashden Awards (4 Awards, including 1 Gold Award)
  • International Ashden Awards (5 Awards, including 1 Gold Award)
  • Eurostar Ashden Awards for Sustainable Travel (2 Awards)
  • Ashden School Awards (2 Awards for UK schools)

Share this article

More services


This article is featured in:
Energy efficiency  •  Energy infrastructure  •  Policy, investment and markets